Weekend Update
Apr. 24th, 2006 10:15 amWell, I should be doing work. But I can't get my fricken database off of the computer it's on without a floppy disc (which I don't have time to purchase just now, but will later in the day) and find my other assignment so overwhelming in scope that I can't bring myself to start yet (all...day...tomorrow...) so I thought that instead, well, screw it, I might as well do my weekend update. :) (I have to be at class at 1, so it's not like I really have a useful quantity of time)
Friday was spent completing my mask (the whole thing took much longer than I thought, probably about 6 hours total, but I think it turned out fairly well...) and then the Potter-lude (redux) and subsequent hanging out with people. The story went over well, and so now we just need to finish it. I hope everyone liked it! We worked hard to incorporate all the different folks who wanted a say. Then, hung out and talked, mostly with
drake_rocket, watched various antics (such as
saracaraid convincing Nathan - our new Satyr who won the queen's favor yesterday - the Changeling was as awesome as Hogwarts, and then helping him start to build a character.), got ice cream, got locked out of
buzzermccain's, and generally had a decent evening. :)
Saturday was way busy. Got up early to meet with
kniedzw for breakfast, talked about lots of stuff (especially Changeling - I love getting reminded of why I love playing a character who is completely clueless. ;) ). Then, headed over to Midnight, and continued my trend of having the worst luck ever recorded, which is really sad since I designed a character who was supposed to be lucky. Like, REALLY lucky. Need to talk it over more with Collin, but I am rapidly reaching the conclusion that the form that poor Reza's luck takes is sort of karmic - life keeps heaping incredibly awful things on her, and everything always goes wrong, occasional sparks of amazing luck are merely an example of the cruel irony of her continued every day existence. Because I've crit failed 7 times in two sessions. And I haven't been rolling all that much.
Then, that evening was Call of Cthulhu. I've never LARPed it before, but it was pretty fun. I, like pretty much everyone else, died. (there were only two survivors, both of whom were completely fricken insane by the end...) I got to shoot a couple bitches before I did so, though, and, aside from the dying, I achieved pretty much all of my personal goals, which was spiffy. :)
Sunday I got up early and got breakfast with
buzzermccain and her cousin. I found it amusing that after never having been to the Uptown Cafe before, I ended up eating there two mornings in a row. ;) Hung out a bit subsequently then headed over to Changeling. Before the game even started I'd managed to get enough things I was expected to craft to more than fill Kathryn's time - there were a few people I'd had to talk to, and when I did...well...at least I got everything from before made (I hope! I forgot my notes, but no one came up to me and was like, "yo bitch, where's my shit?" so I think I'm okay.) But then...oh god, the game. I spent far too much time talking to Harbinger Frost, or thinking about things that we talked about (I'm still thinking about stuff that we talked about...). I can't escape the (out of game) feeling that I have been thoroughly and completely used, but I can't seem to figure out how I've been used, precisely, which is to say I am nearly positive I have been, but I don't quite see what the White get out of the way that I have been used, if that makes any sense. Most of the rest of my time (aside from getting lost, oopsy...) was spent keeping others out of trouble - trying to help out Avery, desperately trying to keep Pinnochio from pissing off Rasputin enough that punitive action was taken against him, desperately trying to keep Pinnochio from doing anything stupid (like getting lost...er...well, you know, do as I say not as I do...), trying to not get scolded any more by Kaye, trying to make sure Armand/Dino didn't worry about me too much (even as I continued to do things that were worrisome...)...I had nothing but great scenes, and was happy that even when I couldn't seem to spot anyone to talk to, I had enough on my mind thanks to Frost that it wasn't a big deal. Oh, and Petra was invaluable as a sounding board - I don't think I'd have gotten as much done as I did without her there and she was totally awesome.
A few favorite moments:
(Kathryn sees Thrax)
Kathryn: "Oh, hi, I'm not sure we've fully met, uh...I'm Kathryn!"
Thrax: "Oh, hi, I'm Thrax. You're the one sleeping with Dino, aren't you..."
Kathryn: *blush* "Oh, um...I mean, I'm n...that is...er...I have to go."
(Kathryn flees)
-Ardala scaring the complete shit out of Kathryn while attempting to be nice to her. ("On Samhain, I used Aprhodesia on Dino, I thought you aughta know." "You...did? What does that do?" "Made him want to be with you." "It...did? Uh...I mean...how long does that last?" "OH! Don't worry, that wore off a long time ago." "Oh, oh thank god! I was...I mean...thank you for telling me.")
-Kathryn being so desperate to protect Pinnochio from himself that she seriously considered Rasputin's attempts to get someone stabbed - including considering stabbing Pinnochio (Heather Balm would fix him!), and Diezel (which would have happened had she had technically been a Varich.)
-Armand checking repeatedly to make sure she was okay, and her being all like, everything's fine! Completely fine! because she didn't want to freak Dino out.
-Having to come up with ways of explaining what she was talking to Harbinger Frost about in such a way that she wouldn't get in lots of trouble. (Whether she would ACTUALLY have gotten in lots of trouble is a seperate question - she was worried that she would, though).
-People kept asking how she could handle the fact that my (blush) boyfriend shared his body with a porn star, and was I dating both of them (no, because she'd get jealous of Armand's behavior, and that's not really fair - that said, she was getting a little jealous ANYWAY, but that's a different problem...), etc.
-And what did I do to impress that god damned bear??? Seriously! I have a baaad feeling about that...
There was lots more - it was a great game, but I think I'll leave it off there.
Anyway, that's enough of that! :)
Friday was spent completing my mask (the whole thing took much longer than I thought, probably about 6 hours total, but I think it turned out fairly well...) and then the Potter-lude (redux) and subsequent hanging out with people. The story went over well, and so now we just need to finish it. I hope everyone liked it! We worked hard to incorporate all the different folks who wanted a say. Then, hung out and talked, mostly with
Saturday was way busy. Got up early to meet with
Then, that evening was Call of Cthulhu. I've never LARPed it before, but it was pretty fun. I, like pretty much everyone else, died. (there were only two survivors, both of whom were completely fricken insane by the end...) I got to shoot a couple bitches before I did so, though, and, aside from the dying, I achieved pretty much all of my personal goals, which was spiffy. :)
Sunday I got up early and got breakfast with
A few favorite moments:
(Kathryn sees Thrax)
Kathryn: "Oh, hi, I'm not sure we've fully met, uh...I'm Kathryn!"
Thrax: "Oh, hi, I'm Thrax. You're the one sleeping with Dino, aren't you..."
Kathryn: *blush* "Oh, um...I mean, I'm n...that is...er...I have to go."
(Kathryn flees)
-Ardala scaring the complete shit out of Kathryn while attempting to be nice to her. ("On Samhain, I used Aprhodesia on Dino, I thought you aughta know." "You...did? What does that do?" "Made him want to be with you." "It...did? Uh...I mean...how long does that last?" "OH! Don't worry, that wore off a long time ago." "Oh, oh thank god! I was...I mean...thank you for telling me.")
-Kathryn being so desperate to protect Pinnochio from himself that she seriously considered Rasputin's attempts to get someone stabbed - including considering stabbing Pinnochio (Heather Balm would fix him!), and Diezel (which would have happened had she had technically been a Varich.)
-Armand checking repeatedly to make sure she was okay, and her being all like, everything's fine! Completely fine! because she didn't want to freak Dino out.
-Having to come up with ways of explaining what she was talking to Harbinger Frost about in such a way that she wouldn't get in lots of trouble. (Whether she would ACTUALLY have gotten in lots of trouble is a seperate question - she was worried that she would, though).
-People kept asking how she could handle the fact that my (blush) boyfriend shared his body with a porn star, and was I dating both of them (no, because she'd get jealous of Armand's behavior, and that's not really fair - that said, she was getting a little jealous ANYWAY, but that's a different problem...), etc.
-And what did I do to impress that god damned bear??? Seriously! I have a baaad feeling about that...
There was lots more - it was a great game, but I think I'll leave it off there.
Anyway, that's enough of that! :)
no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 03:50 pm (UTC)The OOC conversation in the hallway was pretty funny, too.
no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 03:57 pm (UTC)...as both Thraxx and Kathryn are working on that, don'cha'know?
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:29 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 03:54 pm (UTC)Armand, interestingly, is in this odd state where he was sufficiently flipped out by the events of the game that I came to the realization that he's likely far closer to Unseelie than Dino ever has been (excepting, of course, Samhain). Keeping an eye on things so they didn't go bonkers was tough, particularly since the major event for which he had volunteered to be Dino's "mask" (that is, the meeting with the White Queen) didn't go nearly as either Dino or Armand had intended.
All in all, a good game, though. :)
no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 04:08 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:30 pm (UTC)That meeting has me worried.........
no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 05:24 pm (UTC)^_____^
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 05:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 08:15 pm (UTC)It was really awesome.
Hee hee hee hee! In fact, Thraxx used your reaction in a scene I got to witness. ;)
Your crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside?
no subject
Date: 2006-04-24 11:24 pm (UTC)...Yeah, that was fun, too. *grin*
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:32 pm (UTC)And given my boggan-ness, I'd say I'm fairly chewy through and through. ;)
And I'm glad you liked my mask. It was fun to make. :)
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 01:12 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 02:32 pm (UTC)